How the New Seven Wonders of the World Were Built

131_US_New_wonders_3D VELKY_NAHLEDNumbers_web_us4Numbers_web_us5Numbers_web_us6

How the New Seven Wonders of the World Were Built

Written by Jiří Bartůněk, Tom Velčovský
Illustrated by Jan Šrámek
age 9-12

Book parameters:
Size 9.5 × 12.5 in | 56 pages | hardcover | 9788000068435 | $17.95 | Pub date July 11, 2023

The list of the classical wonders of the world has existed for many centuries, and the wonders of ancient architecture at that time were chosen by privileged scholars. The new seven wonders of the world were selected by over 600 million people who voted for the structures from 2000 to 2007. The Great Wall of China, Petra’s Jordan, the Roman Colosseum, the Indian Taj Mahal and Central American Chichén Itzá, Machu Picchu and the Statue of Christ the Redeemer. These buildings are a unique cross-section of world architecture and offer a unique opportunity to compare the approaches, but also cultures of the entire world and different historical periods. Come and travel with us across the world and time and peek behind the curtain of the creation of the architectural monuments that have helped shape the current world.

Successful series: the first title How The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World Were Built sold out within several months and reprinted. This one is even more attractive as the buildings are still existing and can be visited.
Innovative approach: apart from the other books about the seven wonders available on the market, this one not only presents the buildings, but mainly focuses on the construction techniques and tools used through different historical periods.
Artwork: fully illustrated, large panoramic pictures, including sectional views. Realistic, yet playful illustrations appealing to our young readers.
Educative: book contains a lot of encyclopedic information balanced with fun facts and curiosities from the history and supported by graphic and demonstrative depiction.

How the New Seven Wonders of the World Were Built is a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

Books from the series